MKS Help

MKS Purge Utility

Hide Navigation Pane

MKS Purge Utility

Previous topic Next topic No directory for this topic No expanding text in this topic  

MKS Purge Utility

Previous topic Next topic Topic directory requires JavaScript JavaScript is required for expanding text JavaScript is required for the print function Mail us feedback on this topic!  

Alarm History is saved forever - unless you Choose to delete it.

UL® requires that Alarm History be preserved for at least one year.

Because of the size of the Alarm History records, you should periodically delete your old Alarm History, based on your Company's records retention policy.

We do suggest that you Backup Databases prior to executing the purge.

In addition to this utility, there is also a Purge Alarm History option within the MKMS application.

The MKS Purge Utility allows you to specify the types of Accounts, what Alarm Conditions, and which Dealer's Alarm History are to be purged.

MKS Purge also provides the means to delete the Audit Trail files, as well.

 

Using the MKS Purge Utility:

The program is normally located at C:\Program Files\MKS\MKMS\ and is named MKSPurge.exe.

As recommended in Getting Started, create a shortcut for this application and place it in your MKMS folder on your Desktop for quick access later.

Double-Click on the MKS Purge Icon to open the application.

 

HelpFilesMKSPurgeIcon

MKS Purge Icon Shortcut

 

Login to the MKMSDefault database (as the Administrator).

 

HelpFilesDatabaseLogin

   MKMSDefault database login

 

The Purge dialog will be displayed.

 

Purging Alarm History records:

 

HelpFilesMKSPurgeDialog

  Purge application dialog showing Alarm History tab

 

Alarm History tab - This tab allows you to (selectively) delete Alarm History records.  Any combinations of these options may be used for the Purge process.

Before - Use the Drop-Down Calendar/Date Selection Box to Choose the Date, before which, the selected records will be purged (permanently deleted).

Account Type - By default, all Alarm History records will be deleted regardless of its Account Type.

You may limit the Alarm History record deletions to only those Alarm History records that contained that code.

Use the Drop-Down Selection List to Choose that Account Type.

Alarm Condition - By default, all Alarm History records will be deleted regardless of its Alarm Condition Code.

You may limit the Alarm History record deletions to only those Alarm History records that contained that code.

Use the Drop-Down Selection List to Choose that Alarm Condition Code.

Dealer - By default, all Alarm History records will be deleted regardless of whether the Subscriber is being monitored for an Alarm Dealer, or for your own Company.

You may limit the Alarm History record deletions to only those Alarm History records received from Subscribers of a specific Alarm Dealer.

Use the Drop-Down Selection List to Choose that Alarm Dealer.

Only Deleted Subscribers - To Purge only those Alarm History records received from Subscribers that have been deleted, Check this box.

Only Offline Accounts - To Purge only those Alarm History records received from Subscribers that have been assigned an Off Line Date on the Central Station Data screen, Check this box.

Only Non-UL Accounts - To Purge only those Alarm History records received from Subscribers that have not been assigned a UL Grade on the Central Station Data screen, Check this box.

Commit every nnn records - To ensure that the system performs this Purge without slowing the access to the database from within MKMS and MKMSCS, enter a value here.  

This allows the system to delete the specified Alarm History records in an orderly, and less resource intense, manner.

The default is 500 but may be changed based on need.

Process - Click the Process button to execute this deletion request.

 

HelpFilesConfirmAlarmHistoryDeletions

You must Confirm that this is what you want to do by Clicking the Yes button.

The process proceeds automatically then displays a message as to how many records were deleted.

 

Purging Audit History records:

Audit History tab - This tab allows you to (selectively) delete Audit History records.

 

HelpFilesMKSPurgeAuditHistoryTab

Before - The default date for the Purge is One Year Ago.

Use the Drop-Down Calendar/Date Selection Box to Choose the Date, before which, the selected records will be purged (permanently deleted).

Commit every nnn records - To ensure that the system performs this Purge without slowing the access to the database from within MKMS and MKMSCS, enter a value here.  

This allows the system to delete the specified Audit History records in an orderly, and less resource intense, manner.

The default is 500 but may be changed based on need.

Process - Click the Process button to execute this Audit History deletion request.

 

HelpFilesConfirmAuditHistoryDeletions

You must Confirm that this is what you want to do by Clicking the Yes button.

The process proceeds automatically then, when finished, displays a message as to how many records were deleted.